

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Conservation Ontario Announces 2025 Board of Directors: Fostering Collaboration and Strengthening Conservation Efforts Across Ontario

NEWMARKET, ON (April 29, 2025) Conservation Ontario is pleased to announce its newly elected Board of Directors for 2025, marking a pivotal year in our continued effort to protect and conserve Ontario's watersheds.

Conservation Ontario is governed by a six-member elected Board of Directors and directed by a Council comprised of appointed and elected municipal officials from the 36 Conservation Authorities Board of Directors and Conservation Authorities staff.

Conservation Ontario supports the collective voice of Conservation Authorities advocating for sound watershed management, supporting policy and program development, and coordinating province-wide collaboration.

The 2025 board is composed of passionate leaders from across the province who are dedicated to advancing the role of Ontario's 36 Conservation Authorities as leaders in watershed management that deliver services and programs to protect and manage impacts on water and other natural resources in partnership with all levels of government, landowners and partner organizations.

- Chair Dave Barton Mayor of the Township of Uxbridge and Vice-Chair of the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority Board of Directors
- Vice-Chair Ed McGugan Councillor of the Township of Huron-Kinloss and Chair of the Maitland Valley Conservation Authority Board of Directors
- Vice-Chair Pat Warren Councillor of the City of Kawartha Lakes and Chair of the Kawartha Conservation Board of Directors
- Director Rob Baldwin Chief Administrative Officer of Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
- Director Brad McNevin Chief Administrative Officer of Quinte Conservation
- Director Chandra Sharma President and Chief Executive Officer of Conservation Halton

"Our board is positioned to ensure that Conservation Ontario continues to lead the charge in protecting people and property from natural hazards such as flooding across Ontario," said Angela Coleman, general manager of Conservation Ontario. "We're not just stewards of the land – we are supporters of communities across Ontario, collaborators, and catalysts for change. Our collective work is grounded in the belief that we must work together, share our stories, and engage with all Ontarians to build a sustainable and resilient Ontario."

The new board members are poised to play a critical role in shaping policy, advocating for Conservation Authorities, and enhancing their capacity across the province.

"Conservation Authorities have been pillars of our watershed for decades," said Dave Barton, newly elected chair of the Conservation Ontario Board of Directors. "Our board is committed to reinforcing this legacy by ensuring that collaboration and innovation remain at the heart of everything we do. The conservation story is not just about preserving land and water – it's about building strong partnerships that empower everyone to be part of the solution."

For more information about Conservation Ontario, please visit www.conservationontario.ca.

-30-

Media Contact

Angela Coleman, General Manager, Conservation Ontario acoleman@conservationontario.ca 289-763-4807

About Conservation Ontario

Conservation Ontario is a non-profit association that represents Ontario's 36 Conservation Authorities. Conservation Authorities are community-based watershed management agencies whose mandate is to undertake watershed-based programs to protect people and property from flooding and other natural hazards and to conserve natural resources for economic, social, and environmental benefits. Conservation Authorities are legislated under the *Conservation Authorities Act*, 1946.